Week 24: Confessions of a Pregnant Lady


*Cue thought-provoking music*photo 1

I’m in week 24 of my pregnancy and while many woman speak of how amazing being pregnant is and how awesome they feel, I’m trying to figure out what they are talking about.  Don’t get me wrong, I love being pregnant and I am SO excited for the arrival of our baby boy.  BUT, I feel like crap.  I’m tired all of the time and staying up late has now really just become a competition with myself and when I wake up on the couch it’s just a sigh of disappointment that I couldn’t stay awake to watch one show with Dan.

I do my hair and makeup so I don’t look like a complete zombie.

If I roll out of bed 30 minutes before work that’s a good day.

When I mention my sleeping patterns or ‘troubles’  to people who are already parents I get the, “that’s nothing- wait until your baby is born”.  The thing is, I’m not complaining I’m just stating it how it is for me right now.

My love of different types of food goes back and forth.  I am not a fan of chocolate cake, at all.  During my pregnancy….brownies, German chocolate cake and a snowball cake have all been at the top of my list.  I’m a “Coke” girl for sure but Pepsi, oh man, it’s so good right now.  The idea of cheese or potatoes (or even better cheese and potatoes together) seems like one of the greatest food creations of all time.

Can someone please explain to me how a baby squashing my insides, having to pee all of the time, having a fear of laughing because you think you will pee, waking up with bloody snot in your nose, having to take multiple vitamins, having scratch sessions on your skin because it feels so good and an absolute fear that my boobs will be never be the same for the rest of my life is supposed to be this beautiful process?  I’m not angry that I’m pregnant, I’m just being real.  I feel honored to soon be a Mom and I wouldn’t want it any other way but there are certain things about being pregnant that just are NOT glamorous.

It’s scary when you think you should be feeling your baby kick around and you don’t.

Why do baby socks cost more than the socks I buy for myself? (when I wear them)

Is it really true that I can’t have deli meat or is this just a way of testing my patience for 9 months because I’m dying here people.

I don’t like the idea of strangers touching my belly and have worked out in my mind the perfect Kung Fu moves.  Either that or I’m just going to reach out and touch their belly at the same time.

I’m not worried about having everything I need for this baby right away.  I’m worried that other people will think that I don’t have everything I need right away.

Sometimes I eat cookies and if it was remotely appropriate you would hear an evil witch laugh but instead I just smile.

I’m really excited to take family walks.

I hope our cat doesn’t feel neglected once our sweet baby boy arrives.

I know it’s important to go to childbirth education classes but I think I’d rather not know some of the stuff.

I’m so excited to see Dan as a Dad.

There are certain moments that I want to cherish forever in this process; i.e. baby clothes shopping with Dan, watching him put together the stroller, talking about how we are going to decorate the baby’s nursery and discussing how we will co-parent.

I’m excited for my baby bump to get bigger and I’m thankful that I won’t be pregnant during the hot summer months….photo 2.

……………….and I’m mostly thankful that I have a loving and supportive husband and family to keep the mood light and the excitement fresh.  It gets emotional but I suppose that’s better than no feeling at all.

3 thoughts on “Week 24: Confessions of a Pregnant Lady

  1. haha you are so funny. This post makes me miss you a lot!! I really wish we could hang out and make hemp bracelets like the old times.

  2. Pingback: Confessions of a Pregnant Lady: Part deux | I, Sarah, Take you.

Leave a Reply

