Valentine Decorations


I always find it difficult to take down my Christmas decorations.  Don’t get me wrong, when Christmas is over, I get it and I’m not trying to hang on to that particular holiday but it’s depressing when my house goes from being all festive and colorful to “blah”.  Even if I put up normal decorations that were up before Christmas it isn’t quite as festive.

This year as Dan and I were taking down the Christmas tree and other decorations, i asked him to leave up the garland on the mantle.   I think that’s the main thing that makes me think…. “BORING”….. and I thought why not take off the Christmas bows and add some Valentine flare.

This isn’t anything fancy but was just something to dress up my mantle and garland.  I actually think it would be a good craft to do with kids.photo 1

I started buy cutting hearts out of red felt.  You know the cute sheets of felt you can get for about 23 cents, those ones! 🙂

photo 4Next I cut red ribbon, one piece for each hear that I cut out and made them all the same length.

photo 5photo 1 (1)

Next, grab your hot glue gun and place a small dot of glue at the center meeting point of the heart.  Loop your ribbon (so that you can hang your hearts from anything you desire) and place both ends of the ribbon on the glue dot.

photo 2 (1)

I decided to dress my hearts up a bit with pink buttons.  You can leave them as is or even use feathers, sequins, ribbon, etc.  I recently just added these buttons to my stock, so I HAD to use them!

photo 3 (1)

LOVE these buttons!

After I was finished with the hearts I decided to make a homemade (smaller) garland out of white ribbon with silver dots on it.  This ribbon is about 6 inches wide and was very easy to bunch.

photo 2

I started by tying off the end with white ribbon.

photo 3About ever 12 inches, I tied another white ribbon, being sure to bunch the ribbon along the way.

photo 5 (1)photo 4 (1)

After this was completed, I put the long white garland that I made, into the green garland with white lights that I chose to leave up after Christmas.  I just weaved it throughout using the ends of the white ribbons to attach it to the green garland as necessary.  Then I grabbed all of my hearts and evenly put them along the mantle.

Just a quick little homemade craft to spruce up the house, without going overboard and keeping things fun for a holiday!  What do you do to decorate your house up for Valentine’s Day?

Leave a Reply

