Vernon County Fair


We found ourselves at the local fair this weekend.  This was Dan’s first true fair experience as I took him to another local fair earlier in the summer and in his words when asked, “what’s the difference?”, he said, “there’s more cows”.

Dan and Me

Which frankly is spot on but truth be told there was just more of everything.   We walked through all of the animal barns first.  I’m not sure why I don’t have any photos from this but Dan swears he saw a chicken that looks like Tina Turner.  Cows, hogs, steers, chickens, roosters, rabbits, horses……were everywhere and so was their lovely smell.  Now, growing up around here the smell doesn’t typically bother me but when you live in a big city for a while and then come back it is a bit of a culture shock.

We also enjoyed:

Listening to music… classy.

We took our time going through the exhibits which hasn’t always been something that I’ve done but it was nice to go through and look at the photographs.  I’m still trying to grasp the whole idea behind having an antique judged, think I’ll need to read up on that.  My sister, her fiance and my Dad were found watching the live band, usually waiting for us to finish looking through the exhibits.

Dan and Mom posing for a quick fair pic.

Free Strawberry Cottage Cheese!

When I was a kid, I’d always run through the buildings where I could get free pamphlets and food.  They have yet to disappoint and still have free cottage cheese.  Only in Wisconsin would this be one of the busiest booths.

Dan having his first Hubs Fries

Besides the cottage cheese, I indulged in a baked potato topped with pork, cheese, and sour cream.  Dan had a pork sandwich.  It wouldn’t have been a true “foodie” fair without the Hubs Fries and before I was able to head off and buy some, these  wonderful Hubs Fries just showed up!!

Vernon County Fair Night Sky

I really wanted to go on a ride.  The magic carpet ride, the Tilt-A-Whirl, the Ferris Wheel, anything.  One issue:  I may have had to signed a contract to give away our first-born child to take one ride.  For 4 people to go on one ride, it was about $22.  Ummm… what?  Really?  So, I decided to just watch this year.  Of course the games are overpriced but you can’t leave without playing one game.  Dan decided to opt for playing the goldfish game, where you throw ping-pong balls and it has to land in the fish bowl and then you win a fish.  My sister, Megan was also helping out and she was gracious enough to use her mad skills and win us, Bob, our new fish.

Meet Bob, our new fish.

I was also lucky enough to run into a few high school friends that I haven’t seen in YEARS.  It was really great to see them.  It’s crazy how time flies.  Funny enough, we all end up back at the Vernon County Fair because that’s just what you do.

One thought on “Vernon County Fair

  1. Pingback: Apple Orchard! | I, Sarah, Take you.

Leave a Reply

