Saving My Wedding Flowers


We all know that flowers aren’t cheap.  For those of you who have had a wedding or are planning one, you know that it can get pretty pricey if you don’t watch yourself and get carried away.  There are a few reasons why I am so happy to have “saved” my wedding bouquet;  1.  Because it’s my wedding bouquet.  2.  It was very beautiful.  3.  After our wedding photos, I left it somewhere and didn’t realize until our dance was over.  Everyone went on a search for me and found them outside on a deck.   I think it was my husband, Dan and father-in-law who were able to locate them.

First off, the day after the wedding I hung my flowers to dry in the window and sprayed them with hairspray.  I’ve found the hairspray helps them keep their shape AND even a little bit of their color so they don’t turn an ugly “dead” brown color.

Sorry the flowers didn’t show up too well in this photo but be patient and you’ll get a great glimpse at the end!

Since we used mason ball jars for our center pieces I decided to incorporate that into the mix.  Let’s get our supplies!

Ball Jar, painters tape, Valspar frosting interior spray paint and raffia.

Next I used the painters tape to tape off the sections that I didn’t want to have frosted.  You can do the entire jar if you want, but I opted for a thick line that remained clear.

I then went outside to use the spray “paint” frosting.  I would consider to be a highly toxic smell and would suggest wearing a mask.

To avoid dripping and streaking, I started by spraying the bottom of the jar and worked my way to the top.  I’m sure it would work either way.  This is what made sense to me.

Ball Jar frosting complete!

Then, I waited about 20-30 minutes just to be sure that the frosting had dried.  This is what I ended up with after I peeled the tape off.  It’s hard to see in the photo but the bottom bit, about 1.5 inches is frosted as well.  Unfortunately the next steps photo didn’t really turn out.  I took 6 pieces of raffia and tied a knot at one end.  I then  did a braid of them, long enough to tie around the rim of the jar.  Where I tied the raffia, there was a knot and I put an old vintage pin on that. (You will see in upcoming photos)

To add a bit of an “awwwwwwww” factor, I decided to use the string that my husband Dan put into the gift he gave me on our wedding day.  If you don’t know, string is very significant to us because I always told him, I didn’t need anything fancy and I’d marry him with a piece of string.  When he proposed, he tied a piece of string around my finger and hanging from the string was actually my ring which he designed to look like a string with a knot on the top.  Yup, he’s precious and I love him!

String in my gift bag(more on the gift later)

A better look at the raffia around the rim and antique pin.

To finish it off, I just put my beautiful wedding flowers in the jar and “TAH-DAH” a nice little place for my wedding flowers to rest!  Hope you get the chance to make one of these keepsake jars for your flowers!!

4 thoughts on “Saving My Wedding Flowers

  1. Pingback: Wedding Season is Here! | I, Sarah, Take you.

  2. Pingback: Wedding Season is Here- Tips for a Successful Celebration-isarahtakeyou.com

Leave a Reply

