Soup du Jour??: No, it’s just soup.


What you are about to read, I would hardly call a recipe.  It was more of an *open fridge*, “oh man, we have way more veggies than we can ever eat by the time they spoil”.  I get a pretty horrible feeling when I have to throw out food because I let it go bad, so I’ve really tried to limit this happening.

Ingredients: Cauliflower, snap peas, leeks, asparagus, mushrooms, chicken broth, whipping creme, salt and pepper.

Dan introduced me to Leeks.  Now, I love them.

How interesting can chicken broth really look?

I added the Leeks first, I wanted them to be nice and soft.  Otherwise, they taste too much like onions.

Added snap peas and cauliflower

I remember this looking a lot better than the photo shows.

To describe the taste:  It wasn’t overfilled with a vegetable taste.  The mushrooms and cauliflower really balanced it out.  If you decide to try to make this, I wouldn’t use asparagus.  It tasted okay in the soup but for re-heating purposes, I wouldn’t do it.  The asparagus doesn’t taste good at all reheated.

On the side of my bowl you might notice some kale chips, or my attempt at them.  It seemed like a healthy alternative and a good idea.  I spread out pieces of Kale on a baking sheet, added oil and baked them for about 15 minutes.  I think I added too much oil, so be careful if you try that.  For that “chip” feel, I added a tiny bit of salt.  They weren’t horrible, they weren’t amazing.  I thin I’d really have to be  craving kale to make these again.

Needless to say, I enjoyed a nice light soup and was able to use up the majority of my veggies in the fridge before they went bad.

Leave a Reply

