Simple Summer Meal


I often find when people try to share or make recipes they try to add some crazy twist that ends up costing you $30 and your first-born child.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about trying new things but sometimes you just need to keep it simple.  In the summer, when it’s hot and you really don’t want to be turning your oven on, I suggest more of a meal that I’m about to share.

It’s really nothing special at all but I’ve just found myself so fond of the fresh veggies lately and making sure to use them up before they go bad.  We do the majority of our grocery shopping at Aldi.  Some people love it, some people hate it.  Regardless, I think it’s important to always check things out.  The prices there are much cheaper.  If you live in a place that has options for your groceries be sure and research all of your options before ruling them out.  I’d also encourage you to find out when the fresh produce is put out on the shelves.  My sister gave me a tip, and she was right so we now know when to get the best produce.

Included in tonight’s salad was:  Kale, tomatoes, radishes, red peppers, olive oil and almonds.  So simple, so delicious.  The kale has been especially sweet and delightful in salads lately.

This actually is a horrible picture.  I grilled steaks wrapped in bacon.  We bought them that way and then I just added a little pepper.

Trying to whip up a side dis can sometimes be difficult but I was really in the mood for some asparagus and mushrooms.  I decided to include some snap peas as well.  I threw all three ingredients into a pan and Voila.  Yes, I used butter.  I just think that’s one thing you really shouldn’t substitute.  It’s okay to eat butter, just don’t put three pounds of it on your toast, catch my drift?  Great.

YUM! 🙂

My photo of the final meal on a plate didn’t turn out.  I assure you that all of the green with an awesome steak looked great.  I promise, I really do.  It was such a quick meal and I my fave had to be the asparagus, mushrooms and snap peas!

Of course, what would dinner be like without a guest every once in a while.  Yes, our cat, Prudence seems to maker her way onto one of the chairs around the dinner table.  Quite often, she will sit there acting as though she wants to be a part of our conversation and dinner party.  This dinner was no different.

Leave a Reply

