Thesaurus Thursday : lawn vs. garden vs. yard


Here lies the first blog in a series I like to call “Thesaurus Thursday”.  I’m from the United States, Dan is from England.  Yet, there are still times when he says something or I say something and we need to figure out what the other one is talking about.  Some of them you may know, some of them you may not and thus I’ve decided to put them all into a nice compilation because I’ve been noticing that I have adjusted the way I say things and so has Dan.

Today I’m discussing lawn vs. garden vs yard.

Lawn:

1.  a flat and usually level are of mown or cultivated grass

Garden:

1.  a plot of ground, usually near a house, where flowers, shrubs, vegetables, fruits, or herbs are cultivated.

2.  a piece of ground or other space, commonly with ornamental plants, trees, etc., used as a park or other public recreation area:  a public garden.

3.  a fertile and delightful spot or region.
4.  British yard

Yard :

1.the ground that immediately adjoins or surrounds a house,public building, or other structure.
2.an enclosed area outdoors, often paved and surrounded by or adjacent to a building; court.
3.an outdoor enclosure designed for the exercise of students,inmates, etc.: a prison yard.
4.an outdoor space surrounded by a group of buildings, as ona college campus.
5.a pen or other enclosure for livestock.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
I actually find it quite entertaining that number 4,  in the definitions of  Garden is a “British Yard”.  Clearly I’m using an American source.  So, if anyone is reading this and is from England, want to help a girl out and let me know what your dictionary says?
The term “garden” in British English is referring to a small enclosed area of land, usually adjoining a building.  This is what is referred to as a yard in American English
In regards to ‘lawn’, I guess that a lawn can be a part of a garden or a yard it just has to be well maintained and cultivated.  If you are still reading at this point, you might be curious how this came about and it’s because we mowed our lawn, cut our grass, groomed our garden, whatever you want to call it! 🙂
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Meet the Beast:  This bad boy is not something that I will use.  If you know me at all, you know that if there are stairs to fall down or weird accidents to happen, I find them.
 I decided to leave the heavy duty mowing up to Dan.  Thus, I am unable to ‘instruct’ on how to use ‘The Beast’, so my Dad stopped over to show Dan how to use it.
Although I’m not a fan of this ridiculous mowing machine, it does get our grass mowed in about 20 minutes, so I’m not complaining, I just want to keep all of my toes and fingers.
Check out these beautiful flowers in our garden.  Dan took a much better photo of them—>click here.   There used to be a few more standing nice and tall but my wonderful husband decided to take a short cut to the backyard.  At least he didn’t have the blade running, he just steam rolled them.  No big deal. FYI, I find this hilarious, completely hilarious.

One thought on “Thesaurus Thursday : lawn vs. garden vs. yard

Leave a Reply

